Racing Seats, Harnesses & Restraints (SFI)
A seat and a harness are not two purchases - they are one system, and tech inspection reads them together. This page pulls together 24 in-stock products from RCI, Kirkey, NRG, Sparco, OMP, MOMO, Butler Built, RJS, Impact, Zamp, Pyrotect, Crow and Schroth, from $97.99 to $3,249.63: 13 racing seats and 11 complete harness sets. Every harness here states its SFI rating in its own listing - ten are SFI 16.1 and one, Schroth’s Profi II, is SFI 16.5. On the seat side, a rating is claimed only where the listing states one: three seats are listed FIA Approved, one title states FIA 8855-1999, and one Kirkey kit states SFI 39.2. Every order over $200 ships free.
OUR SEAT AND HARNESS PICKS
| Product | Rating (as stated in the product listing) | Spec (from the product listing) | Price | Why it is here |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Poly Hi-Back Seat Black | No SFI/FIA rating stated in the listing | Plastic hi-back, non-reclining, side bolsters, harness openings, fixed mount included | $97.99 | The floor of this page: RCI’s poly hi-back is the budget bracket-racer seat - harness openings moulded in, a fixed mount in the box, and our deepest-stocked seat when this page was built, at 100 on the shelf. |
| Harness 5pt 2in L&L PD Ind Shld Blt-In SFI16.1 | SFI 16.1 (per listing) | 5-point, latch and link, 2 in belts, pull-down adjust, individual shoulders, bolt-in | $114.95 | The harness value pick: a complete SFI 16.1 5-point set with 2-inch belts and individual shoulder straps for the price of a lap belt alone elsewhere - and 20 in stock when this page was built. |
| SEAT R100 Black/Black Reclining | No SFI/FIA rating stated in the listing | Reclining, fiberglass composite shell, side bolsters, harness openings, fabric | $425.00 | The street-and-strip pick: Sparco’s R100 reclines for the drive to the track, yet its shell carries proper harness openings for the passes when you get there. 40 in stock when this page was built. |
| Seat Evo Large QRT | FIA Approved (per listing) | Fixed-back fiberglass composite (QRT), fire-retardant non-slip fabric, harness openings, 19 lb | $929.00 | The FIA composite pick: Sparco’s Evo Large pairs an FIA Approved listing with a 19 lb composite shell - the road-race end of this page’s seat ladder. 40 in stock when this page was built. |
| 17in Seat Advantage II Speedway Black | No SFI/FIA rating stated in the listing | Aluminum, 17 in wide, 20 degree layback, HANS cut-out, black velour cover included | $3,249.63 | The top pick: Butler Built’s Advantage II Speedway is a pro-level aluminum seat with a head-and-neck cut-out and its cover included - the seat the rest of this page is priced against. |
THE HARNESS HALF: READ THE TAG BEFORE YOU READ THE PRICE
An SFI harness is a dated product. Per the SFI Foundation’s label rules, SFI restraint systems are valid for two years from their date of manufacture - since 2017 the tag prints a good-through date rather than a punched manufacture date, but the two-year life is the same either way, and sanctioning bodies enforce it at tech. Two consequences belong on a buying page, not just in a rulebook. First, the clock starts at manufacture, not at your purchase: a discounted old-stock set has already spent part of its two years on a shelf, so ask us for the tag date on any set before you order - call 213-549-4279 (Mon-Fri, 9am-5pm PT) and we will read it. Second, spec matters as well as date: SFI 16.1 is the standard most drag and grassroots classes name, while 16.5 is the heavier-duty spec written for stock-car racing - the Schroth Profi II below is this page’s one 16.5 set, and it is priced like it. Match the spec in your rulebook to the spec stated in the listing; where a listing in the wider range states no SFI rating at all, it is not on this page.
LATCH-AND-LINK OR CAMLOCK, 5-POINT OR 6?
The listings state the hardware per set, and the choices are real. Latch and link (the RJS, Impact, Zamp, Pyrotect, Crow and Schroth LatchLink sets here) joins every strap on one central latch - simple, proven, and usually the cheaper mechanism. Camlock (the NRG, Zamp Cam L, Pyrotect Camlock and Schroth Profi II sets) clicks each strap into a central cam the way a road-car buckle does - faster to belt in, and some sanctions require it while some dirt tracks ban it, so your rulebook may decide this one for you. 5-point or 6-point is about the anti-submarine straps - the belts that stop you sliding down and under the lap belt in a frontal hit: a 5-point set runs one sub strap, a 6-point set (the two Schroth systems here) runs two. Pull-down versus pull-up lap adjusters are a cockpit-fit choice, stated per set below: pull-down is the common default, while Schroth’s LL2 set adjusts pull-up, worked inside the seat where a tight cockpit leaves no room to pull down and away. Shoulder width is stated too - 3-inch shoulders are the traditional drag width, and the 2-inch shoulder sets here are the ones their listings label HANS Ready or Hans Compatible, because narrower webbing sits correctly on a head-and-neck device. On mounting, the listings split bolt-in and wrap-around: wrap-around shoulder belts go around a roll-bar or cage crossbar - shoulder belts are never anchored to the floor behind the seat - and bolt-in ends need proper reinforced mounting points. One rule with no exceptions, from the manufacturers’ own install guidance: never mix straps or hardware from different makers into one set - a harness is certified as a complete system, so buy it as one.
THE SEAT HALF: WIDTH FIRST, THEN LAYBACK
Aluminum racing seats are sized by width, and the width is yours, not the car’s. Kirkey’s own sizing method is to measure your hip width seated, in your driving suit, and match it to the seat’s stated width - the Kirkey seats below are 15, 16 and 17 inches, snug is correct, and a seat that came with a used car is usually the wrong size. Layback is the second number in the listings: 18 degrees on the Kirkey Pro Street Drag and the SFI 39.2 containment kit, 20 degrees on the Oval Entry Level, Intermediate and Butler Built seats, and an adjustable 18-to-23 degrees on Kirkey’s Road Race kit. Read the cover line before you compare prices: the two Kirkey series seats marked requires snap cover need their cover bought separately, while Kirkey’s kits and the Butler Built seat include the cover in the box. Containment climbs in steps on this page - bolstered shells first, then Kirkey’s Intermediate full-containment kit, then the 96 Series kit whose listing states SFI Approved to SFI 39.2. The composite seats play by FIA paperwork instead: OMP’s TRS-E and HTE-R XL and Sparco’s Evo Large are each listed FIA Approved, and MOMO’s Start states FIA 8855-1999 in its title - FIA seat approvals are dated too, so the same ask-us-for-the-date rule applies. And one honesty note: Sparco’s R100 above is a reclining street-and-strip seat whose listing states no racing homologation - it is here for cars that drive to the track, not as a substitute for a rated shell where your class requires one.
BUY IT AS A SYSTEM
The three questions that decide whether a seat and harness work together: does the seat have harness openings at your shoulder height (every seat on this page lists them, or a head-and-neck cut-out on the Butler Built), does it have a sub slot for the anti-submarine strap a 5- or 6-point set needs, and is there a roll bar or cage crossbar behind it at the right height for the shoulder belts? A fixed-back seat and a harness hold you upright - which is exactly why they belong with proper rollover structure, not instead of it. If your car still needs that structure, start with our Roll Cage Kits by Vehicle page, and mount the seat properly: most seats here do not include vehicle brackets, so budget for the mounts your chassis needs (the RCI poly seat is the exception - its listing includes a fixed mount).
AN HONEST NOTE ON WHAT IS NOT ON THIS PAGE
The wider ranges linked below carry gear this page deliberately leaves out. Harnesses whose listings state no SFI rating - including the 4-point off-road and street sets, which have no anti-submarine strap at all - are excluded, because a belt that looks like a racing harness is not one at tech. Suspension seats for off-road and UTV use, seat covers, and the brackets, mounts and sliders every fixed seat needs are sold in the wider ranges rather than padded into this list. If your rulebook names FIA 8853 for harnesses, note that every harness here is SFI-rated, not FIA - shop by the exact rating your book names, and if a listing anywhere does not state it, treat it as not stated, not as implied.
QUESTIONS RACERS ASK US
How long is an SFI harness good for? Two years from its date of manufacture, per SFI’s label rules - the tag on the belts carries the date tech inspection reads (a good-through date on current labels). Your sanctioning body enforces the window, and belts that live in sun and dirt can age faster than the calendar, so check the tag before every season, not just when you buy. Ask us for the tag date on any set on this page before ordering.
Do I want a 5-point or a 6-point harness? Both stop the same failures; the difference is the anti-submarine arrangement - one central sub strap on a 5-point, two sub straps on a 6-point, which many road racers find more comfortable and which some rulebooks prefer. Start with what your sanctioning body requires, then choose by the mechanism and adjuster direction that suit your cockpit from the sets above.
Can I anchor the shoulder belts to the floor behind the seat? No. Shoulder belts mount to a roll-bar or cage crossbar (wrap-around) or to a proper reinforced structure at shoulder height - manufacturer install guidance is explicit that the floor behind the seat is not an anchor. If your car has no bar yet, that is the first purchase, not the belts.
How do I pick an aluminum seat width? Measure your hip width while seated, wearing what you will race in, and match it to the stated seat width - Kirkey’s sizes here run 15 to 17 inches and the fit should be snug with light, even pressure. Between sizes, or adding a head-and-neck device (which changes the shoulder-opening height you need), ask us before ordering rather than guessing.
Shopping the wider ranges? Browse the full Seats and Components and Seat Belts and Harnesses collections, read our guides on the News & Builds blog, or see the page that came before this one: Racing Helmets (Snell SA, by brand/size).